Setting Pen to Paper.

One of the things hovering at the top of my to-do list is to go through my network-attached-storage drive and sort and file all the documents there.  It won’t be an easy task.  When it comes to little chunks of information, I can be quite the pat-rack.  Last time I looked at it, I had snippets of code and text files with cryptic numbers and such dating back into the nineties.

My archives for my RP backstory notes are even worse.  Poor Glithander has little snippets written about him in Word, in OpenOffice – there are a few text files – there are geneology notes and outlines in an old ActionOutline (back when ActionOutline was free…).  And that’s just in one folder.  Now multiply that.

Why is this popping up near the top of the flotsam and jetsam that make up my mind now?  Probably because I’ve been really into roleplaying the last couple of days.  I haven’t really done any yet, mind you – but I’ve been stretching out those muscles – remembering where I left the characters (IC’ly) and what they’ve been up to since then.

Thus far, it’s been a pretty productive (and creative) couple of days.  In the, what, year… year and half… since I last RP’d on Glithander, I figure that he’s been busy sitting in a Theramore jail for piracy.  I was looking at taking the story there anyway, so why not.  Why was he in jail?  Well, figuring that out is part of the fun, right?

Kely has always been a problem child for me.  She’s young – but really, when your race is immortal – what does that mean?  Age is kinda useless, right?  I mean, seriously – she has an older brother, and using real-life as an example, he would have been born about 6000 BC.  That’s prior to any of the modern civilizations (Egypt, Babylon, China, you name it.)  That’s a heck of a difference in age.  But, probably not uncommon when you start talking about taking millenia to grow up.

Still, as a human, it can be hard to force your mind around that kind of concept.   Personally, I figure they don’t even keep track.  You’re either a kid, a young adult (until you prove otherwise) then just an adult.  Who cares how long it takes?

Amerya hasn’t gotten that much attention, to be honest.  But there, there wasn’t that much outstanding from her story.  She had pretty much settled down in Darnassus and was happy there.  She had her family, and had come to grips with that drama… we were definitely in the ‘waiting for the next crisis’ mode with her.

So yes, I’d like to try to get a coherent document written about them.  Get all the bits and pieces sorted out and in one place.  I think that they deserve it – especially Glithander.  There is a lot about what he’s already been through (ICly) that I really need to get down before it is completely lost.

Which leads me to a question, dear reader – I’ve set up ‘About…’ sections for each of them, with what I’m using as their current RSP description in-game.  I’d like to write up a backstory/biography – but how much information should I include there?  There are some things about Glithander, for example, that not even he knows (ICly) yet, although I’ve had to plot them out in my head.  Would it be right to give it away here – or should I follow the RSP guidelines and keep it to ‘publicly’ available information?

Leave a comment